Be Careful (and appreciative of) What You Ask For

Vivian Hawes taught me a lot. She taught me the value of hard work, discipline and toughness. She taught me the most important word in the world is love (and, in its true form, it overcomes all). More important than those things, my mom taught me faith; how to pray about everything and worry about nothing.

Unlike my 3-year-old, who asks for whatever he sees in every commercial, I ask God for one thing everyday: to be better than I was the day before. I pray to be a better husband, a better father, a better son, a better friend and a better coach. What I’ve learned, and have been reminded by this season, is the sentiment echoed by Frederick Douglass, “If there is no struggle, there is no progress.”

If there is no struggle, there is no progress. -- Frederick Douglass

Too many times, people ask for things to be easier. They want to lose weight without working out, have a great marriage without working at it or get rich without having a job (speaking of…what is the lotto jackpot right now?). I have NEVER prayed for things to be easier (though I may have prayed once or twice about that lotto deal). Never asked for the bar to be lowered so I could get over. I’m not interested in sewing less and reaping more. I know the only way to get stronger is to carry a heavy load.

I guess I learned that from Vivian Hawes too. Being the single mom of a hard-headed kid from Watts, regardless of the situation, she ALWAYS told me God would make a way. The voyage has gotten me this far so I don’t plan on abandoning ship, regardless of how choppy the water may get. This season has had its share of challenges, like our losses (which all can see) and others that will only be known by the talented young women I am blessed to lead.

This isn’t new. Mamma said there’d be days like this, I’m just glad she taught me how to deal with them. This team, and I, are in the process of getting better. I won’t be asking for things to be easier. I appreciate the process and accept the challenge. I am just going to do what I’ve always done: pray everyday and let God work. So excuse me if you see me smile. Pardon me if I don’t think the sky is falling. Please forgive me for believing. I’m sure French Montana wasn’t trying to win a Grammy for gospel rap album of the year, but he summed it up perfectly, “I ain’t worried ’bout nothin’.” (Haaannn!!)

Leave a Reply

